Community Achievement Awards

Posted by on May 5, 2019 in Awards | 0 comments

Community Achievement Awards

Twenty-four British Columbians were honoured today at the sixteenth annual BC Achievement Community Award presentation ceremony held at Government House in Victoria.

The Honourable Janet Austin, OBC, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia along with BC Achievement Foundation Board members, Robert Louie, OC and Christopher Gaze, OBC presented each recipient with a BC Achievement Community Award certificate, medallion and citation.

The BC Achievement Foundation Board of Directors’ presented the Mitchell Award at the 2019 ceremony. Named in honour of Keith Mitchell, QC, past Chair of the Foundation and its guiding light for over 13 years, the award recognizes leadership that empowers others to engage. The 2019 Mitchell Award was presented to Ellen Woodsworth.

A list of the recipients follows and a brief summary of their achievements can be found on the foundation’s website at

The recipients of the 2019 awards are:
Beth Applewhite, Port Moody
Don Bassermann, Prince George
Neil Brewer, Agassiz
Evelyn Corlett, Gibsons
Katherine Dodds, Vancouver
Polla Eid, Kelowna
Maureen Fraser, Tofino
Jessie Ann Gamble, Armstrong
Ming Gin, Vancouver
*Nancy & Gunther Golinia, Prince Rupert
Leona Green, New Westminster
Linda Helm, Tumbler Ridge
Janet Johnston, Stewart
Kenneth Kjenstad, Clearwater
Margaret Lidkea, Victoria
Jeffrey Lott, Nanaimo
Dr. Biju Mathew, Maple Ridge
Sandra McPherson, Duncan
Sukhmeet Singh Sachal, Surrey
Lyda Salatian, Surrey
Lindy Steele, Prince George
Katrin Taylor, Sparwood
Vivian Trethewey, Abbotsford
Arnold Trewhitt, Lake Country
Ellen Woodsworth, Vancouver

Press Release: