Order of Canada

Posted by on December 28, 2019 in Awards | 0 comments

Order of Canada

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, today announces 120 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include 14 British Columbians. Recipients will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.




Eddy Carmack, Saanichton, B.C. For his contributions to climate oceanography and for expanding our understanding of the Arctic Ocean and its role as an exemplar for climate change.

John J. Clague, Vancouver. For his contributions to environmental earth sciences and for his impact on the study of natural hazards.

Thomas E. H. Lee, Victoria and Ottawa. For his contributions as a public servant and for his conservation of Canada’s natural resources.

Robie W. Macdonald, Victoria. For having identified the effects contaminants have on northern marine ecosystems and on nearby Indigenous communities.

Christine M. Morrissey, Vancouver. For her advocacy on behalf of 2SLGBTQ+ immigrants and refugees.

Lorna Wanosts’a7 Williams, Victoria. For her contributions to Indigenous education and for her advocacy of Indigenous language revitalization programs.

James V. Zidek, Vancouver. For his contributions to mathematical statistics and for his leadership in expanding the field in academia and government.




Diane Clement, Vancouver. For her contributions to sport and recreation as an advocate for athletic excellence, fitness and healthy living among all Canadians.

Hugo Eppich, Vancouver. For his forward-thinking leadership in business and for supporting multiculturalism, architecture and the arts.

Wendy Lisogar-Cocchia, Vancouver. For her entrepreneurial and philanthropic leadership in British Columbia, notably in the autism community.

Donald S. Mavinic, Vancouver. For his contributions to environmental engineering science and technology in Canada, notably in the areas of liquid wastewater and residuals management.

 Brian Theodore McGeer, Vancouver and Bingen, Wash. For his contributions to aeronautical engineering and for his innovative designs for unmanned aerial systems.

 Paul Nicklen, Victoria and Kimmirut, Nunavut. For his contributions as a leading nature photojournalist who has raised awareness of environmental issues in Canada and worldwide.

Sheri-D Wilson, Vancouver and Calgary. For her contributions as a spoken-word artist and for her leadership in the community